Executive Board | Advisory Board | Science and Research Advisory Board | Advisory Board In Memoriam

Stone age institute Executive Board

Nicholas Toth, President

  • Co-Director, The Stone Age Institute
  • Professor, Anthropology Department and Cognitive Science Program, Indiana University
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Carl Cook, Vice President

  • Chief Executive Officer, Cook Group, Inc.
  • M.B.A., University of Iowa
  • B.S., Electrical Engineering, Purdue University

Kathy Schick, Secretary/Treasurer

  • Co-Director, The Stone Age Institute
  • Professor, Anthropology Department and Cognitive Science Program, Indiana University
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Alan Almquist

  • Professor emeritus, California State University, East Bay (formerly Cal State Hayward)
  • Grants Officer emeritus, Leakey Foundation

Lisa Barlow

  • Photographer, writer and teacher
  • Board Member, Stone Trust
  • Board Member, Brooklyn Bridge Conservancy
  • B.A., Yale University

Henry Corning

  • Founder and Co-owner, Meadowsweet Dairy
  • Co-founder and Owner, Springcreek Advisors
  • Board Designator, Springcreek Foundation

Don Dana

  • Executive Vice President emeritus , Corporate Properties, Wells Fargo
  • President, African Orphans Foundation
  • Member, California State Bar Association
  • President emeritus, L.S.B. Leakey Foundation

Marlis Jansen

  • Collaborative philanthropy and impact investing
  • Vice President, The Springcreek Foundation
  • B.A., Anthropology, Harvard University

Bill Kaman

  • President emeritus , Kaman Music Corp.
  • Director emeritus, Kaman Corp.

Michael McRobbie

  • University Chancellor, Indiana University
  • Professor, Indiana University
  • President emeritus, Indiana University

Lauren Robel

  • Val Nolan Professor of Law, Maurer School of Law, Indiana University
  • Provost emeritus, Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Executive Vice President emeritus, Indiana University

Camilla Smith

  • President emeritus, L.S.B. Leakey Foundation
  • Vice President and Trustee, National Public Radio Foundation
  • Board Member, PBS Foundation
  • Trustee, Teachers College, Columbia University

Stone age institute Executive Board Emeritus

Michael Wood

  • co-Founder, LeapFrog Enterprises
  • Chief Executive Officer emeritus, LeapFrog Enterprises

Kay Harrigan Woods, Elected Life Trustee

  • Chairman of the Board, Scotch Plywood Company, Fulton, Alabama
  • Elected trustee, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Board of Overseers, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
  • President emerita and Life Trustee, L.S.B. Leakey Foundation

stone age institute advisory Board

The Stone Age Institute Advisory Board is an important group of people from diverse backgrounds that advises the Institute in its formulation of long-range planning, including consideration of scientific accomplishments and directions, fund-raising ventures, and financial decision-making. This dynamic and eclectic group includes:

Kenny Aronoff, musician, Los Angeles, CA

Jean Auel, author, Clan of the Cave Bear, Portland, OR

Richard Babyak, professional editor and journalist, Cleveland, OH

Peter Blecha, author, Seattle, WA

Stewart Copeland, musician, Los Angeles, CA

Alice Corning, ceramic artist, Mill Valley, CA

Seymour Duncan, President, Seymour Duncan guitar pickups, Santa Barbara, CA

Richard Fuller, Berkeley, CA

K.H. Gan, businessman and President emeritus, Nilai International College, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Rex Garniewicz, Chief Operating Officer, Museum of Man, San Diego, CA

Gordon Getty, composer, San Francisco, CA

Jack Gill, Managing Director and Co-Founder, Vanguard Ventures; Adjunct Professor Indiana University, Harvard Medical School, and Rice University, Houston, TX

George Gruhn, vintage guitar dealer and author, Nashville, TN

Bonnie Henricks, DoALL Tool Company, Wheeling, IL

Jon Henricks, DoAll Tool Company and Olympic gold medalist, Wheeling, IL

Bill Kimberlin, emeritus digital effects editor, Industrial Light and Magic, Lucasfilm, Berkeley, CA

Mary Krupinski, architect, President and Owner, Kirkwood Design Studio, Bloomington, IN

David Martin, Discover France Adventures, California

Fritz Maytag, President emeritus, Anchor Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

Robert Meitus, attorney, Meitus Gelbert Rose LLP, Indianapolis, IN

Elliott Myers, Supreme Court Justice, British Columbia, Vancouver

Carrie Newcomer, singer/songwriter, recording artist, Rounder Records, Bloomington, IN

Jonathan Piel, Scientific American editor emeritus, New York, NY

Paul Toddy, Executive Vice President, Meyer-Najem, Inc., Indianapolis, IN

Carole Travis-Henikoff, author, Chicago, Illinois

George Walker, Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies, Cleveland State University, Cleveland, OH

Gina Yong, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


Science and Research advisory board

Abhijit Basu, Professor of Geology, Indiana University

David Christian, Professor of Modern History, Macquarie University, Australia

Jesus Dapena, Professor of Kinesiology, Indiana University

Ralph Holloway, Professor of Anthropology, Columbia University

Claudia Johnson, Professor of Geology, Indiana University

Tim Londergan, Physics, Indiana University

Enrique Merino, Professor of Geology, Indiana University

Catherine Pilachowski, Professor of Astronomy, Indiana University

David Polly, Professor of Geology, Indiana University

Lisa Pratt, Chair and Professor of Geology, Indiana University

Aina Puce, Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences, Indiana University

Elizabeth Raff, Chair and Professor of Biology, Indiana University

Jean Schick, Science Educator, Monroe County Community School Corporation

Nelson Shaffer, Indiana Geology Survey, Indiana University

Eugenie Scott, Executive Director, National Center for Science Education

Robert Sherwood, Assoc. Dean for Research & Professor of Science Education, Indiana University


stone age institute Board
in memoriam

Margaret Barrier, emerita Professor of Anthropology, Oxford, OH

Frank Brown, Professor of Biology, Northwestern University

J. Desmond Clark, Professor Emeritus, U.C. Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Geoffrey Conrad, Director, Mathers Museum of World Cultures and the Glenn A. Black Laboratory of Archaeology, Indiana University

Bill Cook, President, Cook Group Incorporated, Bloomington, IN

Lorraine Copeland, archaeologist, Charente, France

Walter Cronkite, former Anchor, CBS News, New York, NY

Del Fuller, Partner, Pillsbury, Madison and Sutro, San Francisco, CA

Marty Fuller, educational consultant, Atherton, CA

Donald Glaser, Nobel laureate, physics, University of California at Berkeley

Anthony Hess, J.R. Holcomb & Co., Cleveland, OH

F. Clark Howell, Professor Emeritus, U.C. Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

Giancarlo Ligabue, anthropologist and businessman, Venice, Italy

Rudolf Raff, Director, Molecular and Cellular Biology Institute, Indiana University

Sydel Silverman, President emerita, Wenner- Gren Foundation, New York, NY

Officers | Advisory Board | Advisory Board at Indiana University